Thoughts on Procrastination and Perfectionism

“We must strive harder, and reach higher, to make tomorrow better than today.” – The Wind Singer, by William Nicholosn

I’m trying something new here. I had the idea to record myself talking over the issues I’ve been thinking about of late, mainly surrounding the PhD and my efforts to get well and get back on track. I don’t have the time/energy/motivation to do much with the blog at the moment because I’m either working or talking to others about how I’m coping (or not) with the stress of the PhD but I don’t want to abandon you, my few yet treasured readers, either. I figured talking for a bit, recording it then tidying it up might be worth a shot, so here we are. The train of thought is a bit jumbled in places but there are important things I have to say regarding perfectionism and the Puritan Work Ethic and their manifestation as procrastination, which may be of interest to you. Also, you get to hear my voice!

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Procrastination and Perfectionism

  1. ❤ ❤ Thank you so much for sharing this. It's so super vulnerable, and there's moments of utter heart-wrenchingly beautiful clarity about dealing with the kind of paralysis you're describing. I don't have a lot to say, but I'm glad you decided to try this experiment!

    • I was trying not to cry recording it (as is obvious!) and then made myself cry listening to it again afterwards. Breaking your own heart with compassion for yourself is certainly something. Vulnerable maybe begins to cover it! ❤

  2. I’m really sorry that I haven’t been keeping up with your writing here; I’ve been really terrible.

    But I really, really love this, and I think this is something wonderful and new.

    Thank you for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Things that are wrong with gradschool – or – how academia breaks people | A Hat Full of Ness

Comments are closed.