Bisexual “Privilege”

My bisexuality has been on my brain a lot recently. In looking for stuff  that maybe some what captures how I feel, I stumbled across this post at the Vegan Abolitionist.

To quote:

I have often questioned my sexuality, because I have been in relationships with men, but not really women.

and

My sexuality is fetishized by most of the people with whom I engage in a relationship. Its true validity is negated by nearly everyone who expects me to just end up with a hetero man (and if I do, then I was never bisexual at all!). It is erased by straight and queer people alike. I’m “too straight”, never queer enough.

 

Yeah.

One thought on “Bisexual “Privilege”

  1. Hmmm…I’m stumbling across your blog, but I think this is an unfair and ongoing debate for many bisexuals: our validity. I was someone that struggled with my sexuality a lot growing up and never understood what I was. I knew I wasn’t gay; I mean I enjoyed…um…my male friends, but also knew I wanted to be with women. And yet, when I ended with women, I couldn’t comprehend why I still found myself attracted to guys. Granted, I didn’t come into truly accepting my sexuality until late in life, but it still amazes me how people can deny the validity of bisexuality.

    We are who we are.

Comments are closed.