Music and other things to be grateful for

Just wanted to share some music videos with you. The writing and editing is a slog but there are things to be thankful for. The weather for starters. Being able to sit in the sunshine in the garden, surrounded by flowers and insects, with gorgeous blue skies while I do work is a pleasure. I’m doubly grateful because it’s something I’ve not been able to do in a long time, not having a garden of my own in Cottonopolis.

My cat is another blessing. Being able to have lazy snuggles on the lawn is so nice and when I wake in the morning it’s usually to find him curled up by my feet.

My cat under the flowers, enjoying the sun

My cat under the flowers, enjoying the sun

I’m thankful for good food and vegetables and a bike that now works (thanks to my brother for fixing the gears!). I’ve also joined a gym as I want to get strong. I quit Jiu jitsu because of injuries but I still want to move and improve my fitness. Not gonna lie, loosing a bit of weight would be nice but I’m trying not to get hung up on it. I am all too aware that there are a lot of shitty messages regarding size and shape rattling around in the background of my brain, and when I’m stressed about other things they have a tendency to flare up. I’ve got half a draft on it but I’m not ready to go there yet. Anyway, things to be thankful for: being able to move, cycle, climb, lift weights and practise yoga.

I’m also thankful for our piano. Gosh, have I missed playing! Turns out when I’m playing for my own enjoyment and not for an exam, it’s actually fun and satisfying. I even taught myself a new piece this week: Beethoven’s Piano Sonata in C# Minor “Moonlight”: the Allegretto movement.

I’ve a long way to go until it sounds this good but I’ll get there. I’m also practising Chopin’s Raindrop Prelude, which I learned for a grade back in the day and still love to play:

For some utterly different music, here’s Julie Fowlis singing various Scottish Gaelic folk songs.

It’s suck in my head and makes me want to dance. I came across her from listening to the Brave Soundtrack, where she sings Touch the Sky, Into the Open Air and Learn Me Right.

The piece I have absolutely not been able to get out of my head however is A Mhaighdean Bhan Uasal, Noble Maiden Fair.

Little baby, hear my voice
I’m beside you, O maiden fair
Our young Lady, grow and see
Your land, your own faithful land
Sun and moon, guide us
To the hour of our glory and honour
Little baby, our young Lady
Noble maiden fair

