The Joys of Boating

Hello my dears, how are you?

It’s been quiet here I know, but with good reason. I’ve been living on a narrow boat for the last two weeks, give or take a few days here and there, taking part in the Tall Ships Regatta in London. I’ve sort of managed to get uni work back on track at last but I have a lot to do, as always.

The boat’s been lovely and I’m just about coping with the spiders and the daddy long legs. We took her out yesterday, up to the marina and back, so that I could deal with the really fun job of pumping out the toilet. *shudder*. But otherwise, it was a fun day, the weather was ok and the food and company were excellent. Also, lighting fires in the morning is fun! Fire, tea and breakfast, followed by 15-20 mins of free writing and planning the day ahead, is a good way to start. I also found the best coffee shop with the most amazing homemade cakes on sale. The chocolate brownie was the best I’ve had in ages. Yummmm! The only downside of being on the boat is that I am reliant on my phone* for internet. This is not conducive to blogging as I only have 1GB of data a month. I have lots of photos I need to sort out, from the boat and the Tall Ships Regatta, but that will have to wait a bit longer, I’m afraid. I’m at home for a few days however, so hopefully there might be photos by the weekend.

Finally, I wanted to say thanks to Kasey over at Valprehension for my Leibster award nomination. From what I can tell it is a nice, friendly way to say Hi and introduce your blog and those of others who have quite small readerships. I will get round to writing a proper post for it soon I hope. My main problem is that most of the smaller, more personal blogs I’ve been reading are very quiet of late. I’ll trawl through my feedly at some point and figure out who’s still going.

Much love to you all, hope you’re keeping well.

 

*which is also now broken. Both the power button and the headphones jack are knackered. Here’s hoping Carphone warehouse can get it fixed and back to me in the next three days!

2 thoughts on “The Joys of Boating

    • Awww yay! Another Tall Shipper. The regatta was great. I was volunteering so I didn’t actually get any time to go look at the other boats properly but I took a lot of photos of the ones going up and down the Thames. I also got to listen to Swing the Lead singing shanties on the Cutty Sark which was just brilliant, and strangely moving.

Comments are closed.